Skip to content

My Name is Cheyanna, and I’m a Nerd

July 29, 2013

‘Tis true boys and girls.  Today I went and saw Wolverine.  Now, you may think there is nothing inherently nerdy about this.  Many people have hopped all over the Marvel band wagon (as well they should).  But I am here to finally say out loud: I also have Marvel playing cards.  And have used them.  And maybe I have long planned on naming all future pets after Marvel characters.  Now, to be fair, I also married a nerd.  Okay, so really he’s more of a computer nerd.  But that’s another story, which requires more wine.

Nevertheless, I felt the need to speak out on behalf of other ‘nerd’ ladies.  We aren’t all created equal.  I don’t do math, and I epic fail at all things computers.  But I have read my fair share of dragon and sorcery books, and love more than a couple video games.  So why do we hide?  Why is it that you can only be either a jock, or a nerd, or a beauty queen type?  Most of us, I believe, think that these stereotypes end in high school.  As anyone over 22 knows, that’s incorrect.  You remain classified as one, with the rest of your alter egos shoved in the closet for rainy days and after hours.  A jock that can read?!?!  The horror!

Of course, we are all a little bit of this and a little bit of that.  I can’t be the only one that wants to be a granola hippy one minute and a Jimmy Choo wearing socialite the next. (Never fear, I neither own Jimmy Choos, nor am a socialite…but sometimes I like to think me and my girlfriends are living a Sex and the City night.  Remember, no judging on this site).

So today ladies (and boys of course), I’m looking for your thoughts.  Do you feel you are presented one way to society, but secretly consider yourself something else?  If you had the cajones, and it didn’t interfere with your work and other silly nonsense…..what would you really be?  Answers such as Jedi knight, president of Microsoft, and Supermodel are totally okay here.

From → Daily Rambles

One Comment
  1. Sarah H permalink

    Geek girls unite!

Leave a Reply

The Day Tradette

Investing for (Really Smart) Dummies

My Danish Kitchen

Scandinavian recipes made in America

Abnormally Normal

This blog is my crazy story through infertility and six early miscarriages. Welcome to my Abnormally Normal life!

Alex In Wanderland

Working and playing around the world

The Clashley Files

Adventures, musings and oddities of the girl next door

Cheyanna's Shenanigans

Adventures, musings and oddities of the girl next door

