Skip to content

My Love/Hate Relationship With the Gym

August 5, 2013

So this happened today:

Blog Pics 001

Yes, that is literally a BUCKET of protein powder.  This is why we can’t have nice things.

In related news, I went to the gym yesterday.  I mentioned before how much I fit right in at Billy’s gym.  Not.  I have a love/hate relationship with working out.  It’s not that I hate it, but I think I’m like most people in that I go through phases with it.  Especially the gym.  You can get me to swim or do any number of active pursuits almost any time.  Going to the gym….not so much.  It’s not my fault it’s boring.  I figured I would be a good girl though, since I hadn’t shown my face there in 3-4 weeks.  It was awful.  What is it all those “always smiling and super pumped up for a work out” assholes try and tell you?  “Just do it for 10 minutes and you’ll want to finish your whole workout”.  Or something along those lines.  Those people are liars.  Ten minutes in I was just pissed off I had even dragged myself to the gym in the first place.  Think of the valuable time I’ve lost when I could have been playing Candy Crush or reading Harry Potter for the 30th time??  I continued to slog through it.  Surely it will get better, I will find my second wind, endorphins, or at the least a hot guy worth showing off for, right?!  Nothing.

Finally, after 35 minutes or so of dragging my sorry butt from one piece of equipment to the next, I admitted defeat.  Now comes the part where you’re supposed to head home and pat yourself on the back for at least going.  Also a negative.  That feeling just never came.  Still just more irritation.  So I did the only thing that could really fix such a crappy morning: medicated with far more calories worth of cheese and wine than I could have possibly burned off in a day.  THERE was the sense of accomplishment I was looking for!

Moral of the story? Wine > workout.

From → Daily Rambles

2 Comments
  1. Sarah P. permalink

    Lol, Try yoga, but none of that Pilates/power yoga silliness. Just find a yoga class and go focus on how nice it all feels. Then pat yourself on the back when your sore ass muscles the next morning testify that you DID in fact get a work out. Works for me when I’m having a hard time getting back on the healthy wagon, next thing I know I’m taking hot yoga 4 times a week and walking the dogs for miles in snow ’cause I’ll go nutter butter if I don’t move for one day. 🙂

  2. Wine is better than most things. And by that I mean…everything.

Leave a Reply

The Day Tradette

Investing for (Really Smart) Dummies

My Danish Kitchen

Scandinavian recipes made in America

Abnormally Normal

This blog is my crazy story through infertility and six early miscarriages. Welcome to my Abnormally Normal life!

Alex In Wanderland

Working and playing around the world

The Clashley Files

Adventures, musings and oddities of the girl next door

Cheyanna's Shenanigans

Adventures, musings and oddities of the girl next door

