Skip to content

Update on 40 Before 40

September 9, 2013

One of my very first posts was a list of 40 things I’d like to learn or accomplish by the time I’m 40.  Although it’s a lot of fun to makes lists and I think they tend to make for popular blogs, I was very serious about this one (as serious as I’ll ever get on here at any rate).  You can view that post here if you’re interested.

For obvious reasons, this list is made up of things large and small.  It’s not difficult to make a list that includes visiting 70 countries or owning a yacht.  However, having the time and funds for stuff like that is a different things entirely.

Today I’m putting myself out there in a big way.  I’m doing this because I’m hoping that if everyone knows, it will force me to continue and not slack off on it.  I’ve started number 34.  I’m writing a book.  Maybe this isn’t very exciting to you.  But it is for me.  I’m not claiming to be writing the next Jane Austen classic over here, but I’m doing it.  It may be terrible….but at the end I will have written a book.  As a book nerd all my life this is a huge life accomplishment for me (or will be when I ever finish the damn thing.)  I even have a reasonable start on it: about 45 pages or so.

This is WAY outside my comfort zone, especially the thought of other people actually reading it.  Life is just too short to spend it just talking about doing things.  What’s the point of that?  I’m as guilty as the next person of sitting around with wine and waxing poetically about the exotic travels I’m going to have or business I’m going to run.  Okay, so it’s more of a buzzed rambling, but you get the idea.  Why don’t we DO more things?  Because we’re scared shitless of failing is the answer.  But I finally realized there’s nothing to fail at other than just not writing the book.  I’m certainly not wasting time by doing it.  Time that could be spent doing what?  Watching the Kardashians, hunting down all the dust in the house, or missing out on more internet cat memes?  Those things waste time, fulfilling a life dream doesn’t.

So there it is.  My dirty little secret I’ve been hiding.  And now you all know and can properly shame me if I don’t finish it.

 

What are you doing that you’re scared of?  If you’re not doing it yet….why?

From → Daily Rambles

7 Comments
  1. Have you ever heard of/done NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month)? Sounds like it might be relevant to your interests.

  2. Sharon permalink

    Pretty impressive that you are wearing your heart on your sleeve. I do believe this is something you will accomplish…. You and your sister never cease to amaze me with what your capable of. I’m looking forward to it.

  3. I love writing. I’ve been writing short stories for a long time. It’s a good stress reliever. And, someone once told me that the best authors are the ones who are avid readers. So, you have that going in your favor. And even if no one but you ever reads your novel, at least you can say you did it. I’ve always been afraid to let others read what I write but it doesn’t stop me from actually writing. My mom has been pushing me to start again, because I admit I developed writers block right before my dad passed away and it hasn’t gone away since. My imagination has locked itself away lol. But keep it up. Don’t stop. Writing is so freeing. I myself am doing something I’ve always wanted to do but been afraid to, which is going to school for cosmetology. I’ve always been afraid I wouldn’t be able to make a living doing it. But now, I’m at least gonna try.

  4. Billy permalink

    I’m scared shitless that my business (personal training for those that don’t know) won’t take off the way we want it to so we can make proper amounts of cheddas (money). It’s currently on the rise and I LOVE doing what I do… but still scary to come to a new state, and not know anything about where you live. Away from family and friends, and on top of it all be dirt poor in the process. I wouldn’t have it any other way once my business DOES take off… just scary in the mean time. 😛

  5. 1. Your writing is amazing…I’m having withdrawals. Need. Updated. Version. NOW.
    2. You’re amazing.

    Chasing Shiny Squirrels, The Clashley Files, and my dirty little secret starting in December are the things I am scared of…

    I worry I won’t be successful. That I won’t ever make money.

    I worry the Mister is going to be disappointed with the new changes.

    But I also worry if I don’t do it I will lose myself.

    And that’s the worst fear of them all.

    So let’s be scared together. Miss you friend! A little less than 3 months til I invade your life for a bit 😉

    • Aaaah! Miss you too. I will send an updated one soon. And you will be successful because your ideas rock and people need them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

The Day Tradette

Investing for (Really Smart) Dummies

My Danish Kitchen

Scandinavian recipes made in America

Abnormally Normal

This blog is my crazy story through infertility and six early miscarriages. Welcome to my Abnormally Normal life!

Alex In Wanderland

Working and playing around the world

The Clashley Files

Adventures, musings and oddities of the girl next door

Cheyanna's Shenanigans

Adventures, musings and oddities of the girl next door

